Donate Now

Lydia Shelley & Nicolas Stavy

23rd February 2020 · 6:30pm - 8:30pm

In person | Virtual event

 Lydia Shelley & Nicolas Stavy

Beethoven | Sonata No.2 in G minor Op.5 (1796)
Brahms | Sonata No.1 in E minor Op.38 (1862-65)
Shostakovich | Sonata Op.40 (1934)

Lydia Shelley (cello)
Nicolas Stavy (piano)

France-based Lydia Shelly and Nicolas Stavy offer a traversal of the cello sonata’s development, from Beethoven’s pioneering G minor sonata through to Shostakovich’s only essay in the genre, composed in 1934 just before Soviet authorities began censoring his work.

This event will take place in the Main Hall on the ground floor. For accessibility info:

Read more about how we use Cookies in our Privacy Policy.


We need your help!

We host talks, concerts, performances, community and social events. However, we are an independent charity and receive no funding from the government. Everything we do is dependent upon our commercial activity and the generosity of supporters like you.

Donate Now